A Brief History of Time

BRIEF INTRODUCTION

'A Brief History of Time' is a scientific work created by English physicist Stephen Hawking, first published in 1988.

The book consists of 12 chapters, all of which cover the most advanced knowledge of the nature of the universe, including: our universe images, space and time, the expanding universe, the principle of uncertainty, black holes, the origin and destiny of the universe, and more. It introduced the knowledge of distant galaxies, black holes, particles, and anti-matter, and elaborated on the origins of space and time in the universe, as well as relativism and other ancient propositions.

In this book, Hawking explores the unresolved conflicts in existing cosmological theory and points out the problems of the unification of quantum mechanics, thermodynamics, and general theory of relativity. The book is positioned to allow those who have cosmology interest to understand his theory and the mathematical principles therein.

Since its first edition in 1988, the book has been translated into 40 languages, with a cumulative sales volume of 25 million copies, making it a best-selling scientific work worldwide.

In this book, Hawking leads readers to explore exotic areas of outer space, introducing in-depth explanations of distant galaxies, black holes, quarks, "flavored" particles and "spin" particles, anti-matter, and "time arrows". The kind of universe, space and time, and the theory of relativity and other age-old problem made an exposition. This was a preliminary understanding for the reader to expllore the secret special theory of relativity and time, such as the origin of the universe cosmology.

The main contents of "A Brief History of Time" can be summarized as follows:

1. The Starting Point of Time - the singularity of the Big Bang. The universe is constantly expanding and it should initially shrink to a point. This moment is called the moment of the Big Bang. The density of the universe at this point is infinity. This is the mathematical singularity.

2. The End of Time - Black Holes. Stars will continue to contract due to gravitational forces, creating a "black hole." The surface of the black hole is very gravitational and time will stop there.

3. How did God Start the Universe? - The origin and destiny of the universe. One is the origin of the universe called the turbulent boundary condition, which is explained by the principle of ergonomics. The other explanation is called the “rising-up model.” It believes that the universe began to swell with acceleration during the first moment, which is much less than 1 second. The radius of the universe has increased by 100 trillion trillion times.

4. The Unity of Physics - the ultimate theory. Humans are seeking to establish a complete, coordinated unified theory that applies to every event in the universe. In this theory, there is no need to select specific constants to match the facts.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Stephen Hawking (1942–2018), the founder of the British theoretical physicist, the black hole theory, and the “Big Bang” theory, was a professor at the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics at the University of Cambridge, UK.

Born in Oxford, England, Hawking was determined to pursue physics and astronomy. After completing a physics degree at Oxford University, he moved to the University of Cambridge to study for cosmology. During this period, he suffered from severe muscular dystrophy and was confined for his remaining years to a wheelchair. However, he continued to immerse himself in research. He successively proposed the theory of black hole evaporation and quantum cosmology, shocked the entire natural science community and was promoted as the most outstanding theoretical physicist after Einstein. In 1974, Hawking was elected as the youngest member of the Royal Society.

《时间简史》

内容简介

《时间简史》是英国物理学家斯蒂芬·霍金创作的科学著作,首次出版于1988年。

全书共十二章,讲的全都是关于宇宙本性的最前沿知识,包括:我们的宇宙图像、空间和时间、膨胀的宇宙、不确定性原理、黑洞、宇宙的起源和命运等内容,深入浅出地介绍了遥远星系、黑洞、粒子、反物质等知识,并对宇宙的起源、空间和时间以及相对论等古老命题进行了阐述。

在该书里,霍金探究了已有宇宙理论中存在的未解决的冲突,并指出了把量子力学、热动力学和广义相对论统一起来存在的问题,该书的定位是让那些对宇宙学有兴趣的普通读者了解他的理论和其中的数学原理。

该书自1988年首版以来,已被翻译成40种文字,累计销售量达2500万册,成为一本畅销全世界的科学著作。

在这部书中,霍金带领读者遨游外层空间奇异领域,对遥远星系、黑洞、夸克、“带味”粒子和“自旋”粒子、反物质、“时间箭头”等进行了深入浅出的介绍,并对宇宙是什么样的、空间和时间以及相对论等古老问题做了阐述,使读者初步了解狭义相对论以及时间、宇宙的起源等宇宙学的奥妙。

《时间简史》的主要内容可概括为以下几个方面:

1.时间起始点——宇宙大爆炸奇点。宇宙是不断膨胀着的,它在最初应该收缩为一点,这一时刻被称为宇宙大爆炸时刻。宇宙在这一点的密度无穷大,这一点即为数学上所称的奇点。

2.时间终结——黑洞。恒星由于引力作用会不断收缩,会形成一个“黑洞”。黑洞表面引力很强,时间会在此终止。

3.上帝是如何启动宇宙的?——宇宙的起源和命运。一种是以人择原理来解释的叫做紊乱边界条件的宇宙起源;另一种解释称为“暴涨模型”,它认为宇宙在开始的一瞬间是以加速度膨胀,在远小于1秒的时间里宇宙的半径增大了100万亿亿亿倍。

4.物理学的统一——终极理论。人类在寻求建立一个适用于宇宙中每一事件的、完整的、协调的统一理论,在这理论中不需要选取特定的常数去符合事实。

作者简介

斯蒂芬·威廉·霍金(Stephen Hawking,1942年—2018年),英国理论物理学家,黑洞理论和“大爆炸”理论的创立人,曾任英国剑桥大学应用数学及理论物理学系教授。

霍金出生于英国牛津,从小就立志从事物理学和天文学的研究。在牛津大学完成物理学学位课程后,他转而到剑桥大学攻读博士,研究宇宙学。在此期间,他患上了严重的肌肉萎缩性疾病,被长期禁锢在轮椅上,但他仍然继续醉心研究,先后提出了黑洞蒸发理论和量子宇宙论,震惊了整个自然科学界,被推崇为继爱因斯坦后最杰出的理论物理学家。1974年,霍金当选为英国皇家学会最年轻的会员。