Biological Nitrogen Fixation

Tracing this source, since the emergence of life on earth, the basic roles of the two major lives of photosynthesis and nitrogen fixation have begun to support the historic mission of sustaining higher organisms. Although there are still many N mysteries here today, whether in the world of microorganisms or higher organisms, the history of the development of life is irresistible.

In the future, it has been more than one hundred years since humans really studied the mechanism of biological nitrogen fixation seriously and scientifically. Studies in the past 100 years have shown that the true nitrogen-fixing organisms are prokaryotic microorganisms, and some eukaryotic organisms (such as legumes) also fix nitrogen through prokaryotic microorganisms that have a nitrogenase system. So the so-called nitrogenases are It is a prokaryotic nitrogenase. And in the scientific community, a paradigm that has not yet been fully successful places prokaryotic nitrogenases functionally in eukaryotic cells. Therefore, the general conclusion of the scientific community is that eukaryotes cannot fix nitrogen on their own, and there is no real eukaryotic nitrogenase. That being the case, if there is only 0.01% of the hope that can prove the existence of eukaryotic nitrogenase, then let us let 99.99% of the first to study the so-called "eukaryotic nitrogenase" does not exist in the rationality. One of the reasons is that if "eukaryotic nitrogenase" already exists in the vast nature, its advantage should have been exerted and discovered by humans.

Is it true that there is absolutely no or no so-called eukaryotic nitrogenase? Or is it still not? For example, it is estimated that the earth we live in now is 46 years old (100 million years old). Before her 25 years old, organic life and life evolved. After her 25 years of age, the life of lower single cells began to flourish under the influence of photosynthetic and nitrogen fixation. When she was 40 years old, the multicellular low-plant world rose until the appearance of gymnosperms, and the entire world was “green”. The flowering plants evolved later (several million years ago), making the world we see today colorful - what a leap and feat it is. Nowadays human biological technology is changing with each passing day, and it is not unusual for some wonderful things. Although the slogan of 'conquer people' has been abandoned by human beings' own practice, the heroic spirit of 'trying to be taller than the day’s test' may still be able to 'move God.'

The beautiful, colorful and wonderful nature of the nature enjoyed by human beings is an important part of the angiosperm. It is her that the world has witnessed what is green grass and flowers. Just imagine that even if the Earth is a few years old (several million years), if the natural world really has the opportunity to develop "acquired" mutants of the original 'eukaryotic nitrogenase' like developing flowering plants, then the world will What landscapes are presented. There will still be no such miracle. Perhaps it will be necessary to wait until the '100-year-old' of the earth is at the end of its life. It will then be suspended by the universe to the wall.

Continue reading the information:

Cheng, Q.(2008) Perspectives in Biological Nitrogen Fixation Research. J. Integr. Plant Biol. 50(7), 784-796.【pdf】

Cheng, Q. Day, A, Dowson-Day, M., Shen, G.F. and Dixon, R. (2005) The Klebsiella pneumoniaenitrogenase Fe protein gene (nifH) functionally substitute for the chlL gene in Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communication 329, 966-975.

Yang, J. and Cheng, Q.(2004) Origin and Evolution of the Light-Dependent Protochlorophyllide Oxidase (LPOR) Genes. Plant Biology 6 (5): 537-544. Dixon,R., Cheng,Q. Shen,G., Day,A. and Dowson-Day,M. (1997) Nif gene transfer and expression in chloroplasts: prospects and problems. Plant and Soil 194: 193-203.

Wang Haibo, Cheng Qi (1993) Retrospect and Prospect of Plant Cell Engineering. Science Technology Review 3, 21-24.

Cheng Qi, Shen Guifang (1993) Transformation and Utilization of Chloroplast Genomes. Biotechnology Bulletin 2(3), 2-3.

Cheng Qi, Shen Guifang (1992) Shuguang of Plant Organelles Genetic Engineering. Biotechnology Bulletin 1(3), 1-4. [pdf]

The regulatory pattern of the σ54-dependent promoter responsible for the transcription of nitrogen-fixing genes was further revealed by the three-dimensional structure. Using a DNA bending protein to study the structure of the σ54-dependent promoter glnAp2 activation complex where DNA bending is involved in the activin NtrC of the AAA family, a 'sandwich' structural model of the transcriptional activation complex was proposed (see figure):


'sandwich' structural model of the transcriptional activation complex of the s54-dependent promoter glnAp2 involved in NtrC (Huo, YX, Tian, ZX, Rappas, M., Wen, J., Chen, YC, You, CH, Zhang, XD , Buck, M., Wang, YP* and Kolb, A. (2006) Protein-Induced-DNA-Bending clarifies the architectural organization of the s54-dependent glnAp2 promoter. Mol. Microbiol. 59: 168-180.)



In the natural world, certain prokaryotic microorganisms fix nitrogen in the air to ammonia through nitrogenase at room temperature and pressure. This process is called biological nitrogen fixation. Such microorganisms are called nitrogen-fixing microorganisms. It is estimated that the annual total amount of biological nitrogen fixation in the world is 200 million tons, which accounts for about three quarters of the global nitrogen requirement for crops. Under the support of the National 863 Program, the 973 Program, and the National Natural Science Foundation Project, Lin Min Laboratory, Institute of Biotechnology, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences and the Pasteur Institute of France, Institute of Pathogenic Biology, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences, Peking University and other domestic and foreign counterparts In 2005, the complete genome sequencing and functional annotation of the combined Pseudomonas stutzeri was isolated from rice rhizosphere in southern China in 2005. Pseudomonas stutzeri A1501 is currently the first to complete the whole genome sequencing in the world. Combined with Azotobacter. Comparative genomics analysis revealed that the four DNA regions in the A1501 genome have typical gene island characteristics. All the nitrogen fixation genes are clustered in a 49 kb DNA region, forming a unique “nitrogen-fixing island” that provides the evolutionary study of biological nitrogen fixation systems. A structured and functional evolutionary intermediate type. A series of new genes that may participate in bacterial nitrogen signaling or maintain optimal levels of nitrogen fixation have been identified using gene chips, timely quantitative PCR, and construction of non-polar mutant strains, laying a good foundation for further in-depth study of the joint nitrogen-fixing gene network regulation. Basic work. Through analysis and analysis of the A1501 functional genome, it is shown that the nitrogen metabolism, degradation of aromatic compounds, and PHB synthesis, as well as the resistance to glyphosate resistance, make A1501 highly resilient to changes in the soil environment and in the rhizosphere The competition is in a dominant position.

生物固氮

追本溯源,自从地球上出现了生命,光合和固氮这两大生命的基本作用就开始支撑起担负高等生物生生不息的历史使命。尽管这里头至今仍存在着N多个谜团,无论是微生物还是高等生物的世界,生命要勇往直前地发展的历史巨轮是不可阻挡的。

继往开来,人类真正认真和科学地研究生物固氮的机理已经有了一百多年的历史。百年来的研究表明真正具有固氮能力的生物都是些原核微生物,一些真核生物(如豆科植物)固氮也是通过那些具有固氮酶系统的原核微生物来固氮,所以目前所说的所谓固氮酶都是原核固氮酶。而且在科学界,还没有完全成功的范例将原核固氮酶在真核细胞里有功能地安置好工作。因此目前科学界的普遍结论是真核生物不能自身固氮,也不存在真正意义上的真核固氮酶。既然如此,如果可能只有0.01%的希望能证明真核固氮酶的存在,那么不妨就让我们以99.99%的胜算先来研究一下所谓“真核固氮酶”不存在的合理性。理由之一就是,如果在茫茫大自然中已经存在“真核固氮酶”,那么它的优势早应该得以发挥而为人类所发现。

  话又说回来,自然界无奇不有,难道真的绝对没有或者不会有所谓真核固氮酶吗?还是说还没有?譬如说,据推算我们现在居住着的地球已经46岁(以一亿年为一岁),在她25岁之前,有机生物和生命就进化了出来。在她25岁之后,低等的单细胞的生命在光合和固氮作用的推动下,开始势不可挡地茂盛起来。在她40岁的时候,多细胞的低等植物世界崛起,直至裸子植物的出现,整个世界“青一色”。能开花的植物稍后(若干亿年前)才进化出来,使得我们今天所见的世界多姿多彩-- 那是何等的飞跃和壮举。现在人类的生物技术日新月异,有些巧夺天工的事也并不稀奇。虽然‘人定胜天’的口号已经被人类自己的实践所摈弃,‘欲与天公试比高’的豪迈气魄却或许还能‘感动上帝’。

对人类所享之大自然的绚丽多彩、多姿和奇妙,被子植物功不可没,正是她,让世界见证了什么是绿草和鲜花。试想哪怕地球再过上几岁(若干亿年),如果自然界真的得以有机会像发展“开花”植物那样而发展“获得”了原始“真核固氮酶”变异的生物,那么世界又将会呈现出何等的景观。会还是不会有这样的“奇迹”出现,或许要等地球“100岁”寿终正寝,日后被宇宙人悬挂在墙上,谜底才会昭然。

继续阅读资料:

Cheng, Q.(程奇)(2008) Perspectives in Biological Nitrogen Fixation Research. J. Integr. Plant Biol. 50(7), 784-796.【pdf】

Cheng, Q.(程奇), Day, A, Dowson-Day, M., Shen, G.F. and Dixon, R. (2005) The Klebsiella pneumoniaenitrogenase Fe protein gene (nifH) functionally substitute for the chlL gene in Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communication 329, 966-975.

Yang, J.(杨继) and Cheng, Q.(程奇)(2004) Origin and Evolution of the Light-Dependent Protochlorophyllide Oxidase (LPOR) Genes. Plant Biology 6 (5): 537-544. Dixon,R., Cheng,Q.(程奇), Shen,G., Day,A. and Dowson-Day,M. (1997) Nif gene transfer and expression in chloroplasts: prospects and problems. Plant and Soil 194: 193-203.

王海波,程奇 (1993) 植物细胞工程的回顾与展望. 科技导报3, 21-24.

程奇,沈桂芳 (1993) 叶绿体基因组的改造和利用. 生物技术通报2(3), 2-3.

程奇,沈桂芳 (1992) 植物细胞器遗传工程的曙光. 生物技术通报1(3), 1-4.

主管固氮基因转录的σ54依赖型启动子的调控模式通过三维结构得以进一步揭示。利用DNA弯曲蛋白,研究DNA弯曲对AAA家族激活蛋白NtrC参与的σ54依赖型启动子glnAp2 的激活复合体的组织结构,提出了转录激活复合体的“三明治”结构模型(如图):


NtrC参与的s54依赖型启动子glnAp2 的转录激活复合体的“三明治”结构模型 (Huo, Y.X., Tian, Z.X., Rappas, M., Wen, J., Chen, Y.C., You, C.H., Zhang, X.D., Buck, M., Wang, Y.P.* and Kolb, A. (2006) Protein-Induced-DNA-Bending clarifies the architectural organization of the s54-dependent glnAp2 promoter. Mol. Microbiol. 59: 168-180.)


在自然界中,某些原核微生物在常温常压下通过固氮酶将空气中的氮素固定为氨,这一过程称为生物固氮,这类微生物称为固氮微生物。据估计,全球每年的生物固氮总量为2亿吨,约占全球作物需氮量的四分之三。在国家863计划、973计划和国家自然基金项目的支持下,中国农业科学院生物技术研究所林敏实验室与法国巴斯德研究所、中国医学科学院病原生物学研究所和北京大学等国内外同行合作,于2005年完成了分离自我国南方水稻根际的联合固氮斯氏假单胞菌全基因组测序及功能注释工作,斯氏假单胞菌A1501是目前国际上完成全基因组序列测定的第一例联合固氮菌。比较基因组学分析发现,A1501基因组中四个DNA区域具有典型的基因岛特征,所有固氮基因成簇分布在一个49 kb的DNA区域内,形成独特的“固氮岛”,为生物固氮体系进化研究提供了一个结构和功能完整的进化中间类型。利用基因芯片、适时定量PCR和非极性突变株构建等方法,鉴定了一系列可能参与细菌氮信号传导或保持最佳固氮水平的新基因,为进一步深入研究联合固氮基因网络调控奠定了良好的工作基础。通过对A1501功能基因组的研究分析表明,固氮作用、芳烃化合物降解和PHB合成等代谢特征以及抗草甘膦等抗逆特性,使A1501具有较强的应对土壤环境变化的适应能力,并在根际竞争中处于优势地位。